Some states offer tax credits or tax deductions to families of stillborn babies. Below you will find information from the states that offer this to families and how to advocate for this support if your state currently does not offer these credits/deductions.
Please consult with a tax professional to help you with this process.
Many of these tax credits and deductions require a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Birth/Certificate of Stillbirth. Please visit our resource page for more information about the CBRS/CoS.
There is $2,300 for each birth for which a certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth was issued if the child would have otherwise become a member of the taxpayer’s household.
Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, under “Paisley’s Law,” a nonrefundable individual income tax credit may be claimed for a stillborn child. To be eligible, a stillborn child is one:
who was in gestation for 20 weeks or more;
for whom a certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth has been issued; and
who would have been a dependent of the taxpayer during the taxable year.
The credit allowed may be claimed only for the taxable year in which the birth resulting in stillbirth occurs.
Eligible taxpayers may claim a credit of $2,500 against their Connecticut income tax liability. This credit is effective for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2022.
This Act shall become effective on January 1, 2022. Abstract: Establishes a $2,000 income tax credit for an individual who delivers a stillborn child. Proposed law authorizes an income tax credit for an individual who delivers a stillborn child.
Governor Rick Snyder signed H.B. 4522, on December 28, 2018, making the bill Public Act 589. It took effect on March 29, 2019.
This bill enables families that experience a stillbirth after 20 weeks to claim a child deduction on their state income taxes in the year of the stillbirth. This is intended to help families cover the costs of prenatal care or the funeral arrangements incurred. This cannot take away the grief for the loss of the child, however it can help ease the financial burdens of the stillbirth.
If you are a parent who experienced the stillbirth of a child in Minnesota, you may qualify for a refundable credit of $2,000.
To qualify, all of these must be true:
Stillborn Child Refundable Tax Credit, LB 432 (2021). For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2022, LB 432 provides a $2,000 refundable tax credit to the parent of a stillborn child in the year the stillbirth occurred.
Parents who lose a baby to stillbirth (fetal death) and file a North Dakota income tax return are eligible for a one-time deduction in the year the stillbirth occurred. The deduction is adjusted annually for inflation and therefore may change from year to year. North Dakota identifies a birth resulting in stillbirth or fetal death as the unintended death of a baby at 20 or more weeks gestation.
If your state is not listed above, please consider becoming a volunteer to learn more about legislation efforts that can bring this support to families in your state.
We try very hard to keep this information current – however, if you are aware of any changes/updates, please bring it to our attention – [email protected].